101 Courthouse Square
Cotulla, TX 78014

So What is a LEPC?

Under the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA), Local Emergency Planning Committees (LEPCs) must develop an emergency response plan, review the plan at least annually, and provide information about chemicals in the community to citizens. Plans are developed by LEPCs with stakeholder participation. There is one LEPC for each of the more than 3,000 designated local emergency planning districts. The LEPC membership must include (at a minimum):

Elected state and local officials

Police, fire, civil defense, and public health professionals

Environment, transportation, and hospital officials

Facility representatives

Representatives from community groups and the media

EPCRA helps to provide notification and access to information on chemicals at individual facilities, their uses, and releases into the environment.

A Local Emergency Planning Committee or LEPC, is a partnership between citizens, local government and industry to enhance hazardous materials preparedness. LEPC's are mandated organizations that consist of ​emergency responders, industry, government, educational institutions, media, and community groups.​​

The Local Emergency Planning Committee provides for joint emergency planning, training, and public outreach within La Salle County. As a result, local communities working together with industry, are better able to protect public health and the environment.



The primary mission of the La Salle County LEPC is to reduce risk and provide emergency response planning utilizing TIER II GIS Mapping & Product Reporting for chemical and/or hazardous material releases. The La Salle County LEPC is dedicated to public education and awareness, especially in local schools.